Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

There are several ways for expanding the cites depending upon their geographical location and the area available to be accommodated. In various cities, residential areas are constructed in multi-story buildings; however, some have a trend of building housing colonies. In my perspective, the choice for the development relies on the availability of land and the cost of it. First of all, the cities with high population densities prioritize high-rise architectures since the land per person is quite limited there. In the countries, for example, South Korea, Japan, and Bangladesh, where the area is not enough to build houses, mostly consist of multi-story buildings containing residential flats because purchasing a personal land is nearly impossible there as prices are sky-rocketing. Therefore, it is inevitable to expand the cities vertically, rather than horizontally. On the other hand, housing societies are more popular in the cities with surplus lands where the construction cost is relatively higher than the land prices. For instance, the cities in Pakistan, India, Canada and USA are huge in area and the people mostly reside in individual houses. Such dwellings are prefered and appreciated due to the freedom of designing their own home and altering the facilities according to the needs. Hence, this practice is common in cities with cheaper lands. In conclusion. Although the ways of creating housing schemes vary in different countries, each type of construction has its own reasons. In my point of view, both ways are equally efficient for the living; nevertheless, the ways of practising it depends upon the convenience of purchasing the land and the construction cost.