Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Learning a foreign language is now often considered a dispensable task since computer software programs are able to provide quick and precise real-time language translation. Personally, I disagree with this opinion because such apps' imperfections might result in misunderstandings and conflicts if speakers rely entirely on them. One reason why I think people cannot avoid learning a foreign language is that computerized translators often neglect the cultural aspects of languages. Little do people realize that even the most advanced and accurate apps, such as Google and Yandex translators, translate texts literally, word for word. By doing so, they disregard the social norms of communication which are adopted in the culture. For instance, many Russian business emails tend to sound rude if translated into English with the help of the Google Translator program. This is because they lack the necessary for the professional etiquette "please" and "thank you" phrases, which results in English-speaking people feeling uncomfortable and reluctant to have professional relationships with Russians. Therefore, such businesspeople have to learn English to forge bonds with foreign partners and clients. Another reason to consider is that machine translation can choose a wrong analog among existing synonyms for a word. This is because word meanings do not match up precisely across languages, and the implications of such translations taken at face value can cause serious conflicts. This, for example, happened when Donald Trump called Germans "bad" in one of his interviews, which resulted in serious consternation in German media, which afterward wondered whether he had meant Germans were evil or wrong in their actions. Had Donald Trump spoken German, he would have clarified the meaning of his words. In conclusion, I am convinced that computerized translations' limitations can cause many problems if people rely on them completely. Consequently, learning foreign languages is unavoidable for building deeper relationships and smooth communication across cultures.