Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technological advancements we have got today could seem fictional a few decades ago. We spend a chunk of time on communications whether it could be writing emails or calling someone. Connecting with someone in seconds has become necessary with the boom of technology; however, some people say that writing letters are still important these days. In this essay, I will shed light on both sides. First of all, writing a letter might nerve wrack some people because of the availability of phones, tablets, or computers. Sending a text message instantly to anyone around the world would be a perfect example of modern conversation. With the help of the internet, it has become easier than we could ever imagine, such as video calling. Families can talk to their children in case of any emergency. Therefore, it is hard to imagine living in a world without these devices nowadays. On contrary, writing letters always had some sort of sentimental value attached to it, which is on the verge of ending due to emerging technologies. Even though we can communicate with anyone at any time, we still feel detached from everyone. There is no electricity or internet access in some remote areas around the world, and those people are still dependent upon letters for communication. For example, in some hilly areas of India, people write letters to send their messages to one another due to the shortage of antennas. Furthermore, the older generation is not good with technology, making it harder for them to communicate. Hence, writing letters is still an important form of communication for numerous people. In conclusion, I agree that modern communications have made our life easier, but writing letters is still salient for people who do not know how to operate mobile phones or computers.