Write about the following topic: Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Studying history is considered pointless by some people. I personally think that it is an important part of anyone education. History repeats itself, it is not just an adage, it is simply logical. The same causes will always have the same consequences. In recent years, many questionable politicians have been elected all around the world. It is very alarming as we have seen in the past what could happen with the wrong person in charge. I am coming from France, where history holds an important part in the curriculum and was really surprised by the point of view of some people I spoke with while travelling. What those people all had in common is that they were not coming from Europe. They knew about the wars but had not studied this part of history as much as European people do. They could not precisely tell what happened and, as a result, they were unable to understand the dangerousness of some actual leaders. However, even if I do not agree, I can understand why some people think that studying ancient Egypt, or other past civilisations, is not extremely relevant and should be considered as a hobby more than anything else. For example, they could reasonably argue that some children already are overwhelmed at school with subjects such as math which are more useful and valued in today's society. To conclude, I deeply believe that studying history is essential to be able to fully understand the world we live in and avoid repeating mistakes from the past.