Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent decades, private vehicle ownership has boomed as car prices have started to go down, therefore allowing more individuals to purchase them. Some people believe that personal cars are the main reason city centres are congested, hence they should be prohibited, while others argue that this idea is impossible. My opinion is that city centres are too crowded and measures should be put in place to restrict access to personal vehicles. To begin with, many people think that an excellent solution for solving the overcrowding of town's centres would be to stop private automobiles from entering this area. That is because the air and noise pollution rates are really high, especially due to an enormous number of workplaces and business buildings. In other words, many employees live in the city ’s outskirts and commute every day to the centre using their cars. Moreover, some city centres were built centuries ago and have small and narrow lanes, so traffic jams are more common here than in any other area. For instance, cities like Rome, London, or Paris have already introduced measures for banning private cars in order to stop traffic congestion. On the other hand, many individuals have the opinion that banning car owners to bring their cars into the city centre is an impossible solution due to a lot of difficulties citizens may face. One of the reasons is the fact that a lot of employees live in suburbs and a lot of them do not have public bus routes to use to go to work. Also, real estate is really expensive in city centres so some people cannot afford to buy or rent an apartment downtown. For instance, London rents are so expensive that people prefer to commute from nearby cities, like Winchester or Southampton, instead of renting a place there. However, these difficulties could be resolved if governments and councils introduced new bus services or lowered the high-speed railways' fees. To conclude, although many issues make banning privately owned vehicles a difficult measure, I believe that the authorities should create programs that would benefit both the commuters and the urban area’s infrastructure.