Popular events like the football World cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

International sports tournaments are thought to be one of the ways of easing tensions between different nations. This essay agrees that these sports events can bring people together, as many people from different countries get to meet each other, also, it is a chance for some people to cheer for their nation's squad and feel proud about their country. To begin with, worldwide sports events, such as the Olympics and the World Cup, are watched by many people from different nationalities and backgrounds. Spectators flock from every country just to see competitors representing different countries playing with each other, therefore, meeting other spectators from different backgrounds, speaking different languages. This can help ease the strain resulting from turbulent political events. For example, the African Nations Cup for football has allowed many African Presidents, such as Egypt and Sudan, to meet. As a consequence, these competitions play a crucial role in unifying nations that are torn by politics. Additionally, many individuals gather to see the squad representing their country. They try to encourage team members to win the competition in order to see their nation winning a gold medal or the world cup. For instance, in Egypt, many Egyptians cheer for their national team in the African Cup of Nations as their win is considered to be a victory for Egypt. As a result, tournaments can make people feel proud especially when their national team wins first place. In conclusion, I strongly agree that international sports competitions allow people to unite, regardless of their nationality. Also, it can make citizens feel pride and victory when the team members that represent their nation prove themselves in such well-known competitions.