Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the latest years, social media and mobile devices have changed how people communicate and interact with each other. Although this development allowed facilities and difficulties in their lives, I believe there are more positive effects than negative ones. Firstly, the speediness is the most outstanding benefit in the usage of technology in communication. Through the centuries, people would only rely on letters and physical messages delivered hand-by-hand. Delays were expected and the correspondence would be even lost with the long distances. Nowadays, e-mail and message application are the most reliable way to contact anyone, anywhere and at the same instant. Secondly, another highlight is the capacity to regaining and keep in touch with distant colleagues. It is generally common to lost contact even from important people through time. Therefore, having a profile in social media allows a person to find and be found by former friends, teachers and people that once participated in their lives. Friendships can continue to live on and new relationships can be created with shared connections. However, virtual contact can create this sense of closeness but belate real meetings. For instance, technology brings the comfort of getting in touch without displacement, which can not replace the real meaning of being together. The consequences of this change of habits are to become even more distant and not take action to reach the ones that are cared for. To sum up, the recent development in communication has its gains and losses. Nevertheless, the positive effects are highly profitable for a deeply connected society.