Some people think international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Other think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Motor vehicles are the main human source of carbon dioxide emission. Reducing traffic all across the globe would have a positive effect on the environment. Some people think that an international car-free day would be an effective way to improve air quality by reducing traffic-related pollution. Unfortunately, this would actually have little to no impact on the environment. The main goal of an international car-free day is not to reduce carbon emission, doing this just for 24 hours would not make much sense. In fact, the aim would be to make people understand, and experience first hand, that there are often other possible options than using their cars. If just a few people every year would realise that using public transport for their daily commute is actually better, this could over time create a snowball effect and bring more and more people to do so. However, such a day would be very hard to organise, and I believe that there are more practical ways to help people understand that it is in reality not that difficult to change their behaviours. For example, taxes on fuel and non-economical vehicles, from which the benefits would be redistributed to sustainable initiatives and informative campaigns to raise awareness may be more efficient than an international car-free day. To conclude, we have to take action and address the environmental issue in such manners that are both effective and convenient for people. And while I have nothing against an international car-free day, I think that it is unpractical, very complicated to put in place and that there are probably better ways to achieve the same results.