The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

The news connects people with society. As a consequence, news can produce a huge impact on people thoughts. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the vision that the media industry has a powerful influence on people's lives and this is a negative development. All of this is because a select group of editors and journalists can influence an entire society and they have violated the free-choice rights. Fist of all, a few news editors can access to millions of people in a matter of seconds by communicating their ideas on social media. They are able to ingest several smartphone notifications in order to capture our attention. Once they accomplish their task, they can build our mindsets over time according to their purposes. For instance, there is an organization called Qanon which has infected social media with several fake news. Qanon owns many online magazines and media providers over the internet, as a result, they were reaching millions of people in seconds. As a matter of fact, in 2016, they changed the USA election results by transmitting several fake news. On the other side, social media have repeatedly violated our human rights by allowing to news distributors such as Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin decide whether contents are true or not. This market structure is clearly a monopoly which attempts to our rights to make free choices about what we decide to consume as news. For example, during the last United States election, Donald Trump claimed about fraud committed by his rivals and the CEO of Twitter decided to close Trump's account. Thus, Twitter does not allow our right to make a free choice about Trump claims. In conclusion, I strongly agree that media industry influence too much our societies. They have a tremendous power to change mindsets and they have violated our right to make free choices.