There was a time when people only shopped out of necessity, but these days shopping seems to have become a new form of leisure activity. People do not appreciate the value of money anymore. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In this contemporary era, the world is changing rapidly and dramatically. Nowadays, shopping is becoming one of the most popular leisure activity. So, some people believe that the value of money do not appreciate anymore, whereas others argue that it is a good thing to improve the economy. I cent per cent agree with the first view. First and foremost, people are being more materialistic, because of their working schedules. When they have spare time, they go outside and buy such things, which are unnecessary for them. They rarely buy those things, which they are in need. These days, Sunday become a traditional leisure day, when citizens go for shopping without a cause to spend their whole day outside. In addition to the above, small shops are converted into the gigantic malls, in which they consist of bars, cafes, theatres and children’s play areas. Due to this, it is more like small picnic places. For example, if a family goes into the mall, then they have all amenities, because of it, they do not have to visit another place. All are under one roof. They being lured by the employees through big discount offers and bargaining, owing to this they don’t think twice and started shopping to gratify their greed. On the other hand, in the olden days, people only bought those things, which they were needed. They made a list of basic amenities before went to shop. So, they did not end up excessive shopping. Do they always think before buying and ask questions such as do I really need that item? If the answer is no, then they avoid buying such things. To conclude, people should mitigate these habits, because they, not only affect their monthly budget but also they don’t use their money on those items, which they really want.