Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these opinions?

It is believed by some people that rules and laws form the foundation of society and that a lawless society would fail to function. I totally agree with these opinions because laws exist to ensure the safety of its citizens and protect their basic rights. Laws play a crucial role in keeping society safe. The first reason is that they act as a deterrent to would-be criminals. In other words, those who intend to commit a crime might refrain from doing so if they know that their wrongdoings would be punished. For instance, the strict counter-terrorism legislation in Australia has proved a success because there has been a decrease in the number of terrorist attacks since such law was adopted. Another reason is that laws keep criminals out of the community by putting them in prison or executing them. The absence of laws would enable heinous crimes to be committed, posing grave threats to the community. Laws also protect the basic rights of each citizen. Firstly, they guarantee that every member in society is entitled to the freedom of choice, freedom of speech, freedom of religion, and so on. Take Vietnam as an example. In the past, Vietnamese women were prohibited from voting. However, they are now free to cast their ballots as permitted by laws. Secondly, laws protect us from discrimination against our race, gender, age, or disability. Without any laws, basic human rights were not safeguarded, which might result in resentment and even rebellion. In conclusion, it seems to me that laws play an indispensable part in making the world a safer place and ensure the basic human rights of each citizen. Therefore, a lawless community would inevitably endanger the well-being of its member and threaten the social fabric.