Many people now live in societies where consumer goods have become cheap. Do advantages outweigh disadvanatges?

Today many people in some countries are facilitated to consume cheap goods by the government. This trend has both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, both sides will be explored before evaluating whether the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. Regarding the benefits, perhaps, it might be said that cheaper goods can be more accessible to many people. This can improve people's quality of life with basic and luxury goods, thus enabling more comfortable and pleasant living conditions. In addition, the availability of cheap goods can stimulate economic activity by increasing consumer spending, which contributes to economic growth. For example, the middle class is helped economically to fulfill their needs. However, we should not ignore the various drawbacks that this phenomenon may bring about. First, over-reliance on cheap imported goods can lead to a country's dependence on foreign markets, posing risks to national security and economic autonomy. Second, low prices often lead to overconsumption, which can generate significant waste, contributing to environmental degradation. In this case, it is very detrimental to ecosystems and society. Finally, mass production of cheap goods is often associated with unethical labor practices, including exploitation and unsafe working conditions in some countries. For example, fast and cheap food brands often rely on cheap labor in developing countries, where workers, most of whom are women, are exposed to poor working conditions, long hours, low wages, and even forced labor in some cases. This exploitation perpetuates the cycle of poverty and inequality. In summary, I am of the opinion that the lack of measurement of trends relating to cheap goods can be a substantial drawback. As such, it outweighs the potential benefits.