Nowadays most people spend less time in their homes. What are the causes of it? What are the effects on society and individuals?

In recent times many folks often do not spend enough moment with their families. This is normally caused by working extended job hours in the office as a result, the folks are usually overstressed with very poor work-life balance and this can a have a negative impact on the public health since we currently have many ill-health associated with stress. One of the vital problems of limited leisure time is working late into the night. Because a lot of people have a strict deadline to meet and work tooth and nail to deliver this expected result at all cost. For instance, we barely knew my father because he was always staying in the office late into the night in an attempt to cover his daily task. Clearly, extended office hours usually rob family off time to spend with their loved ones. Therefore, this is one of the major causes of spending less quality moment with one's family. One of the major effects on the individual is excessive stress which oftentimes results in very poor lifestyle habits which often lead to some illness such as, high blood pressure as well as being overweight. For example, I currently work in an eatery and most times overstressed which has lead to being overweight due to eating a lot of convenient meals. Evidently, this, in turn, puts huge strain the health sector as I currently see a dietician, finances that could have been channelled to more pressing social needs. Thus, this is one of the effects this will have on both individual and society. In conclusion, a lot of folks spend less time at home because they do extended job hours at the office which often result in poor habits and sickness which tend to put pressure on the public health sector.