The maintenance of public libraries is a waste of money because of compute technology that has similar functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered by many that maintaining state libraries is a complete waste of funds which could be channelled to tackle more pressing issues since some computer application such as, the internet can actually play similar roles. I strongly support this notion because these funds could be used to properly equip public hospitals and construct effective water systems. Firstly, these funds should be used in equipping clinics instead of being wasted on refurbishing libraries. This is because nobody uses the libraries any more as people can comfortably access these services at the comfort of their home so more lives must be saved. For instance, all the materials for my final year project were from the internet so what need do we have for investing in the libraries. Clearly, the health system is one key sector that still needs more attention in order to save lives. Therefore, the authorities should not waste resources on this maintenance. Secondly, Portable water system is another major challenge faced by Nigerians and should get the attention it deserves. Owing to the fact that, majority of the citizens lack access to clean water supply, the government should invest more in providing this. For example, Enugu state is currently faced with typhoid outbreak which is basically due to lack of access to neat water supply in the state. Evidently, libraries are not the public need now as most people can access it through their phones and desktop systems. Thus, more pressing problems should be addressed real-time. In conclusion, it is often argued by many that maintaining general libraries is a complete waste of money which could be deviated to solve other problems. And I totally support this idea because providing quality healthcare and building clean water treatment plant for the poor masses is more important issues to tackle other than preserving books.