Some people think that it is good for spending money on finding life on other planets, while others believe it is a waste and governments should focus on problems on the earth. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Spending money to explore life in outer space arouses a great deal of controversy as many people believe that the authorities should allocate the resources to fix the current problems on the Earth. It is necessary to discuss both viewpoints before forming any opinions. There is a widespread belief that searching for life in the universe is the insurance for humanity, and governments, as well as scientists, need to invest time and money in outer- space exploration and colonization. The explanation for this is that the Earth may not be able to sustain human lives for long-term since it can be destroyed by human’ heavy weapon or even naturally self-destroyed like other stars in the universe. As a result, If the governments do not invest in space science, all of humanity’s eggs are put in one small basket called ‘Earth’ and lead to extinction. On the other hand, the opponents of space exploring argue that the Earth can be regenerated, and I strongly agree with this. Since the degradation of the Earth is a long-term process, with the same amount of investments and time for outer- space, we can still save the Earth instead of leaving it. More precisely, I believe that scientists need to spend their talents on exploring how to reform the polluted areas, and the authorities should allocate more funds for these reformation projects. In addition, the governments also have to spend more resources to strictly stop and punish all over-exploited natural resources activities as well as potential environmental damages ones. In conclusion, space exploration has its own value in saving humankind; however, it is the governments’ responsibility to reform the Earth and solve all of the contemporary problems we had. Since having a life in other planets is in the far future, it is better to pay attention to our near future on Earth and save the Earth.