In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers books they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advent of the internet has changed our reading ways. While an increasing number of people have been choosing to gain information from online resources, I believe that the traditional ways of reading would not be replaced. There are several reasons why more and more people prefer online resources to gain information and knowledge. Firstly, people are able to get a variety of online resources without any cost. There are many websites providing free news and books for them to download it. This could help them to reduce living expenses. Secondly, printed paper materials required a lot of wood to produce. Nowadays, people are encouraged to protect the environment. If people could use online resources, it would help to reduce deforestation, thereby protecting our environment. Finally, using online resources only require a small place to store, while printed materials require a big storage to keep it. On the other hand, I think that the traditional reading method would not be fully replaced. Spending too much time online will damage people’s eyesight. Young students, in particular, a long screen time will cause eye strain, and the numbers of short-sighted children will increase significantly. However, the side effects of reading printed books would be much less than reading through electrical devices. Also, printed newspapers and books are published by professional writers and media, which are more reliable. By contrast, everybody can post any articles online at any time, and some information may cause misleading effects. In conclusion, although massive online resources are free and paperless, it can help to protect the environment, I reckon that the users of physical newspapers or books will decrease, which could not be totally replaced by online resources.