Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was brought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

The proliferation of contemporary lifestyle has brought about numerous socio-economic drawbacks. For instance, it is widely acknowledged that individuals are wasting a myriad of food purchased from those places such as shops or restaurants. This essay will identify a host of driving forces behind the curtain before outlining several measures taken to mitigate this phenomenon. There is a myriad of compelling reasons why an obscene amount of food is thrown away, either old groceries or leftovers. The relatively inexpensive cost of products could be the main reason. In this day and age, the ubiquity of fast food, as well as a wide range of shops, increase the competitive market among counterparts, thereby lowering the price of an item. This leads to a poor appreciation of food that people and a great deal of food wasted on a large scale. Another rationale is that people’s standard of living is getting better, people do not have to worry about the lack of money for buying food, which is why they tend to order more than what they can eat and later do not have the leftover packed to take away. In order to prevent food from being disposed of irresponsibly, some effective measures could be taken. Firstly, owners of restaurants could charge extra costs for dishes that are ordered but not finished, which makes customers be more thoughtful before they decide to order anything. Secondly, the government and street vendors need to raise citizen’s awareness about the long-lasting impact of leftovers discarded to the environment via advertisements on TV or other social networking sites. At the same time, encouraging people to compost could help food scraps be handled in a more environmentally friendly manner. In conclusion, food -wasting among numerous modern people can be mainly attributable to the lack of appreciation for food and the cheaper price of food items. Punitive measures are one way to deal with this issue. However, drastically reducing food waste requires changing the consumer’s mindsets.