In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is positive or negative situation?

Possessing a house is almost everyone's dream in most of the countries. Based on the individual's affordability, people choose their plot. Although few of us have a different opinion, many advocate having their own property over renting. This essay will cover the factors behind the preference and to what extent this could be progressive. To begin with, people need a sense of belongingness, which could not be achieved through rented houses. Even after years of stay, they must vacate one day, and they can only carry their memories that could eventually fade out. On the other hand, it is not the case with having their own home. One can have lasting memories. Moreover, it makes families secure. After so much of hardship, they feel so contended of their achievement to one for themselves. Even the governments of some countries have been implementing policies and schemes to build houses to the poor who are not affordable in their lifetime. For instance, the Indian government has started implementing a scheme where they construct houses to donate them to the lower-middle-class. Thus, nations recognize the need for having a dwelling for oneself as part of increasing the living standards. Contrarily, these possessions became status symbols in society. Individual importance started depending on the materialistic properties over human values, which can be detrimental to grow as a society. Besides, few have strong motives to hold their opinion towards renting. They argue that day-to-day maintenance expenses can be tremendously increased with these own houses. For instance, in North-Eastern India, families do prefer rented homes despite their affordability. Thus, different factors that show the negative aspect of this phenomenon. All in all, it is evident that both positive and negative aspects present as in everything else. However, possessing a dwelling for themselves is more of contentment and security, and thus the positives outweigh the negatives.