Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, a lot of old-aged individuals choose to stay in a care home because they no longer want to be a burden for their families. But is this is a good thing? Or should families continue to assume responsibility for their older members? This essay will look at both the positive aspects and negative ones of this current trend. To begin with, one of the advantages of living in a nursing home is that the older generation is taken care of by professionals and as a result, they receive the medical services they need. In other words, it is easier for them to live in a place where they have specialised personnel and feel safe from a medical perspective. Also, older people have the opportunity to meet similar individuals, who have the same hobbies and age. In this way, they build a community and develop new friendships after their partners have left them. On the other hand, supporting a grandparent in a nursing home might be a costly alternative for many families. One year in a care facility costs approximately 40,000 pounds and this makes it impossible for a lot of old people’s relatives to pay. Instead, they choose to keep their loved ones with them. Another disadvantage is that the elderly are separated from their families, and grandchildren no longer have the opportunity to spend time with their grandparents. Moreover, a lot of people forget about their loved ones and they visit them rarely in a nursing facility, hence the life quality and happiness of the old people decrease significantly. In conclusion, I think that although there are many options for taking care of the older generation, the most efficient one is to accommodate them in a nursing home. Also, if families do not afford this alternative, local councils and governments should create programs to help out disadvantaged households.