Despite the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. What is the cause? What can be done about it?

Nowadays, various technological breakthroughs are being used in cultivating crops for food. Nonetheless, it is still evident that there are people who still starve in different parts of the world. There are many reasons behind this global situation and measures to solve this should be widely taken. There are several reasons as to why hunger is experienced worldwide these days. First, the ever-growing population increases the demand for food. According to one study in the UK, today's global population will triple its size in the next three decades, in 2050. With limited supply and high demand, it is inevitable that starvation could result. Second, environmental changes also have an impact in the production of food. For instance, the soil is easily eroded due to floods because trees in the forest are cut, or the ozone layer is depleted because of the continuous greenhouse effects in the atmosphere. All of these could hinder in achieving the requirements in order for food to grow. There are approaches in which people could take to solve this crisis. Family planning could be strictly imposed by the government, not only providing education but to actually implement it in each household. This could help in controlling the bulging populace. Furthermore, policies about proper food consumption and disposal must also be put into action in order to prevent wastage. In Paris, for example, groceries are mandated to reduce their price during the closing hours. Because of this, more people, especially those indigents, could buy the ingredients for their meals to a more affordable price and produce are not thrown instead. In conclusion, the hunger that resonates globally is due to the rise in the number of people and from the destruction of the environment. The government should be stringent in its laws about putting family planning in action and on the measures to impede throwing food to waste.