In many countries, people do not recycle their rubbish as much as they could. Why do you think this is? What are the possible consequences?

Recycling of rubbish is one of the most tremendous issues in the modern world. People do not care about waste treatment in many countries as much as they should. In my opinion, people are not involved in this problem because the government does not make any effort in teaching citizens to recycle their rubbish and there are no severe penalties for that. Firstly, the goal of the government is to popularize the process of recycling. People should know how to spread garbage and where to throw it out in special places. If the government neglects this process, our planet can be threatened by the contamination of water, forests and countryside by the rubbish. For example, in countries of the former USSR,more than 85% of people do not recycle their rubbish. Herewith, more than 65% of respondents admit that they want to recycle garbage if municipal authorities would publish instructions on how to do it. Secondly, fines for non-recycling are too low or their absence at all in the majority of countries. It leads to the situation when people throw garbage out everywhere without penalties. At the same time, recycling plants waste time on recycling by themselves and it leads to their stoppage in productivity. For instance, more than 81% of wastes are sorted in the plants and total loss in income is more than 100 million rubles per year. Thus, the absence of fines for throwing garbage everywhere can lead to financial losses of the country. In conclusion, I think that recycling should be treated well nowadays. Governments and politicians should write programs and instructions for the people and set up severe penalties for defying it.