Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is proposed that a higher priority needs to be given to the preservation of particular ancient monuments compared to others. I fully support this assertion based on factors as valid as the level of historical and monetary values that they possess. My firm belief that more attention should be paid to certain historical sites is attributed to several sound arguments, with the most reasonable one being much greater significance that world-famous ones like Taj Mahal or Hagia Sophia carry, thus necessitating more attention and increased preservation. Historically, the former one has served as a symbol of pure affection and devotion while the latter has played a crucial part in Islamic world since the Ottoman Empire, promoting religious concepts of integrity, honest living, and faith. From an economic standpoint, these attractions of historical pride have a global appeal for tourists, bringing in higher visitor attendance and a great deal of revenue. This money, in turn, could be allocated to maintaining the heritage as well as attracting more visitors who would get to know about diverse cultures and stories behind the creation of great historic sites, ultimately promoting them to the world outside. Furthermore, focusing on the large-scale conservation of all ancient structures seems all but impossible. Since such buildings are prone to wear out due to a wide range of factors, be it human-induced or natural as seen in the case of erosion of rocks because of acid rain, they command a huge source of income. This financial burden on the state budget proves problematic given other more important sectors which need government funding like healthcare, medicine, and education, consequently leading to improper or inadequate conservation initiatives or even to the ignorance as a whole. This might take necessary attention away from protecting historical sites of greater value and leaving them unnoticed. Even worse is when it contributes to the loss of cultural heritage. That is why prioritizing quality over quantity - placing greater emphasis on the protection of particular ancient landmarks - is essential. In conclusion, I completely advocate the notion of more attention paid to protect some physical structures of ancient significance based on the sensible arguments mentioned above.