Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last decade, it has been extremely difficult for people to meet someone. However, these days, with the development of social media, all of us can keep in touch with friends and update top of news and events easily. In my opinion, I assume that the pros of social media outweigh the cons due to social media not only saves time but also helps humanity become better and more quickly. To begin with, there are two reasons why the benefits of social media outweigh the drawbacks. First of all, instead of spending a lot of time meeting friends face to face, people can contact their partners more conveniently and quickly. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, everyone cannot go out, therefore, using social media is the only way to contact each other. Moreover, in the past, meeting people in different nations was very hard, nevertheless, these days, it become easier. Secondly, social media also helps someone in emergency cases. Because it always updates top news, some individuals who stay in emergency cases may have a chance to help. On the other hand, social media have some drawbacks according to some people. Firstly, the relationship between two people may break up. Due to a lack of communication offline, it is so difficult to get close relationships or break up. In addition, social media also brings some negative problems about identity theft. People who use social media will provide their personal information. If they do not check and secure, someone could have stolen your personal information and racked up debts or committed fraud- all with your name on it. In conclusion, I think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages according to the convenience and quickly of social media. However, customer needs to use it carefully, unless their information is stolen.