In the modern society, it is no longer necessary to slaughter animals for producing food, or non-food products such as clothes or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since human beings can derive nutrition from plant-based sources and synthetic materials can be used instead of leather, some people opine that it is no longer necessary to kill animals. I do not agree with this view because not all nutrients can be obtained from plants. In my opinion, in order to preserve traditions and to fulfil the human need for nutrients, animal slaughter should be permitted in a less brutal way. Dwellers in certain geographic locations have been adapted to eating some foods. Such eating habits may are adapted to eating animal foods. Such eating habits may have existed for hundreds of years and become a part of the local lifestyle. The Japanese, for instance, live by the sea and take food source. It is not exaggerating to say that forbidding seafood will have a major impact on their life. In addition, nutrient elements from meat are essential. For example, beef and mutton provide us with numerous protein and vitamins, which are of great importance in building bones, muscles, cartilage and skin. Thus, it is fair to say animal-based products are an indispensable part of our life and thus cannot be replaced. Nevertheless, we should not ignore the fact that slaughtering causes considerable pain to animals. According to the human International Society, animals used in the fur industry are commonly subjected to force-feeding and food and water deprivation. Where fox fur coats are considered as a symbol of social status, skins are stripped off when foxes are still alive. In order to keep these animals’ suffering to a minimum, such barbaric practices should be put to an end. In other words, humane methods should be adopted, such as stunning them by electrocution prior to the killing. Meanwhile, strict punishments ought to be imposed on cruel slaughter. That is to say, we have the obligation to ensure animal welfare and prevent animals from being treated inhumanly. In summary, due to the significance of animal foods to our culture and health, we should not ban the slaughtering of animals. However, we are supposed to eliminate agonizing slaughter and minimize their suffering.