Some people say that main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important problems. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Environmental problems are arising at an alarming rate. Some people say that the main environmental problem of out time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, others say that there are more environmental problems. In this essay I shall discuss both the views and give my opinion. Firstly, we have observed extinction over years in many plants and animals due to various reasons such a pollution, excessive hunting, climate changes. All the plants and animals play an important role in our ecosystem, as ecosystem is interdependent. Absence of one particular type of animal can have “domino effect” on the entire ecosystem. Every living creature has a right to live and we should provide them a life free from the problems caused by us, in a nutshell our problems should not hamper them. However, we are facing bigger environmental problems than just extinction of certain animals and plants. Pollution is one of the biggest environmental problem that we are facing currently and it is growing at an exponential rate. We need to divert our resources and provide efforts to reduce the pollution, ensure that our environment is clean. Another big issue is use of paper, it leads to cutting of trees in hectares and a fresh tree will take a decade to grow to its fullest. We are running to fast in the consumerism and profit race, example: Apple claiming that they will not sell chargers with their phone to conserve environment, we really need more bold steps than just mockery. It is high time that we stop and look at what have we done to the environment in order to achieve our desires. To conclude, if we focus majorly on the bigger environmental problems such pollution and excessive cutting of trees, we will actually solve the extinction problem to a great extent. If needed we can of course provide extra effort for saving particular species of animals and plants.