We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the tech revolution has made the internet a double-edged sword. Some users see it as an intrusive tool for their privacy, while others contend its' benefits exceed those personal issues. I think that the internet has served humanity in many good ways, although it has some drawbacks. In this essay, I will rely on some studies and personal experiences to highlight the benefits of the Internet. Firstly, the internet has helped us in all parts of our lives, such as education, medicine, socialisation, employment, travel, communication, and many other fields. This variety has led humanity to a better quality of life and made our lives much easier. In addition to this, a statistical study conducted at Oxford University on 300 individuals who depend on the Internet for only 50% of their activities revealed that 229 of them have improved their life quality by 70%. Furthermore, technology nowadays has developed to a level where all users can control their privacy options. All virtual platforms, including social media, educational, entertaining, and financial platforms have given their users total authority over their privacy and security permissions, so users can control and be responsible for what others can reach of their own content. For instance, two years ago, when my mother downloaded the Facebook app on her phone, she came to me and said, Why are there strange people interacting in my profile and on my posts? When I checked on her privacy settings, I found out that she made her account a public one, so I changed it to a private one and controlled who was allowed to see her posts, interact with them, and even who can send her a friend request. To conclude, I would like to state that the internet can be either dangerous or beneficial, it's the way we use it that decides how it will impact our lives and how much it can penetrate our privacy. But in general, such a tool is definitely one of the most significant inventions humanity has made.