The tendency for news reports in the media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individual and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A significant portion of society reads and watches news reports on a daily basis. The content of what they come across has a profound impact on the way they perceive society. There is a conflicting view on whether the tendency to focus on the negatives instead of positives has ill effects on the common man. Some people believe it is essential to be as realistic as possible while others disagree. On the positive side, bringing attention to the troubles and calamities everyone is encountering exposes the weakness in a community that needs to be rectified. As an example, consistently highlighting the traffic jams on the motorway prompts the mayor to build flyovers to swiftly address the issue. Likewise, regularly published articles on overpopulation bring awareness among the masses to get started with family planning. Similarly, crime reports let individuals know what city areas to avoid in order to be safe. On the contrary, a vast portion of people fundamentally believes that continuous information related to emergencies is linked with depression and anxiety. To illustrate, reports show people to be suicidal when they are constantly reminded of unemployment in their country. Second, troublesome news develops negativity among people in all walks of life. This creates an unlikable vibe that is hard to get rid of. To conclude, news directed towards problems can be helpful for taking corrective measures which ultimately benefit society. However, In my humble opinion, news outlets need to strike a balance between a portrayal of a society engulfed in problems versus the positives everyone can look up to. This will ensure a less stressful society that can focus on continuous improvement.