Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believed that physical capacity of the sportsman is the most important factor to ascertain the result in any sports but on the contrary, it is said by some people that the mental strength plays a most vital role to direct the success. Hence, to have a better understanding, we will discuss both views in this essay. Physical strength is something which has an important part in any game of sports. Though, it is usually considered by people that no sportsman can compete lacking in this section. Furthermore, many games of sports are absolutely based on physical potency and none of the mental skills is required in such games. For example - Weight lifting is absolutely dependent on the physical capacity and we see that only huge powerlifter can compete in this sport. Therefore, it has a valid point that physical strength has to be required if anyone wants to take part in mass level sports. While others think that mental strength is something which can dilute the factor of physical capacity which consequently may get positive results in any game of sports. Moreover, even if anyone is not that much active to participate in a game but sharp mindset and skill can help to overtake the former factor. For instance - chess is a game which is completely focused on mental skills and there are none of the physical abilities required in that sport. So, mental strength is very much needed in any sports. To conclude, in my opinion, that, as both the factors have their own merits but I think, mental abilities are very crucial for any sports to compete in as you can rely on mental skills to participate in any game but it cannot be overturned when it comes to the physical strength.