Some people believe that unpaid community services should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a discussion if voluntary community services should part of the students curriculums in high school, or if it should be optional. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support for the former view. One of the disadvantages of compulsory welfare work in high school is that students can develop a bad relationship with this kind of activity, precisely because it is obligatory. This is because people tend to refuse or dislike things that they are forced to do. As a consequence, they would do community services just in high school, and after that they will stop doing it. However, if this kind of work was compulsorily part of the syllabus, it would be much more practised, which would bring increased benefits to society, as they are fundamental in building a fairer community. Furthermore, all the students, without any exception, would have contact with this activity, knowing how it is important by developing their sense of responsibility and citizen duty. As a result, they will continue to practice it after their graduation in high school. For instance, there are a lot of examples of people who had gotten to know community services in school and after that, they kept doing it, like the famous Brazilian social worker called Dandara de Jesus. In conclusion, although mandatory unpaid community services can lead high school students to dislike this activity because they would not be able to refuse it in their syllabus, I believe such work should be a necessary component of their programmes, regarding all the benefits that this can bring for students and society.