Some people believe that studying in a college or university is the best way for students to prepare for their future career. Others think they should leave school as soon as possible to develop their career through work experience. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People possess different opinions about whether students should continue their tertiary studies or earn practical experience by quitting their studies, to excel in their future work. Both the views, to some extent, are justified. However, in my opinion, the chances of success grow manifold with higher education. Some of the scholars argue that experience is developed by doing things practically and not by finding knowledge in texts. The ability to handle diverse work conditions and real-life challenges can only be acquired by doing the work practically. Through regular practice and close observation one can increase the chances of success. Therefore, some people have the opinion that students should leave studies early and find a job or start a business so that they may have sufficient time to master the skill. For example, someone who aspires to be a baker or a hotelier does not necessarily have to do a course in home science of hotel management. It is better for them to join the industry and learn the ropes of the trade while they are on the job. On the contrary, others argue that it is better to invest the precious learning age of a student in higher education so that they can learn the facts and master the ability to think logically. There are many jobs that require university education. For example, someone needs a degree in a relevant field to practice as a doctor or a lawyer. While practical experience will certainly make you a better doctor or attorney before you can gain that experience, you need a degree. Education also broadens the horizons and the increased creativity may open new avenues for innovation in the business process. For example, as per the recent survey conducted by the Stanford Business Administration, 81% of the top entrepreneurs had completed their MBA before launching their start-up). Thus, there is clear evidence that higher education improves a person’s career prospects. In conclusion, practising the craft from an early age may help to master the skill. However, in my opinion, a university degree is a must for gaining entry into many fields.