Some people believe that social media can provide people with reliable information and news. Others, however, disagree with this view. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is a debate over whether people can rely on social media in providing true data and news. Although individuals face with the false story in social networking sites, I believe social platforms are more effective regards to conveying reliable material and news. The supporters of the view that social platforms are not secure for getting information think that as most information and news are shared by not journalists, but by ordinary people, it may not be trustworthy. It is believed that anyone is free to share info and news in just one click without proofreading and fact-checking, thus, while some part of knowledge can be true, it may have false shades in it. Other people, including me, believe that, although sometimes social media platforms can mislead society, it is trustier than most media channels. Latter ones may be dependent on government especially, in autocratic countries, thereby sharing news and information which only support governmental policies and conceal necessary message from society. For example, one dog shelter in Azerbaijan is catching and killing dogs instead of sterilizing them. While TV channels were sharing brainwashing info about them, the truth about them was only revealed thanks to social media sites. Thus, less manipulative news cases do people face via online platforms. To conclude, while social media can convey untrustworthy news and information in some cases, I think it is more reliable because of its autonomy.