Today, more and more people choose to be self-employed. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh itsdisadvantages?

Nowadays, the amount of people working on freelance jobs is increasing. I tend to believe that the benefits of self-employment are outweighing the drawbacks of it. The main drawback of working as an independent worker is an unstable annual income. Working only on temporary jobs, self-employed workers do not have long term profit resources and they can experience the risk of a financial crisis. With increasing demands and highly competitive terms of labour market it can be very challenging for freelancers to land a job. Secondly, long term employees can gain profound experience by climbing the career ladder, for example, improving their positions in the company’s hierarchy which is something freelancers can not do. Thirdly, another negative side of freelance jobs is not getting needed health insurance from companies which is not the case for permanent workers. Also once they retire, independent workers don’t get a pension which puts them under the poverty risk on the old age. Although self-employment has some drawbacks, I tend to believe that benefits are more important. First and foremost, freelancers have the freedom every office worker can imagine. Thanks to odds such as having flexible work schedules and not being tied down to an office environment, freelancers can travel the world and choose when and where to work. Furthermore, self-employees can achieve a better work-life by changing workplaces if they gain no job satisfaction from their current projects. By working for several organisations, they can earn more profit and have enough money to fund themselves in the long run. In conclusion, working as a self-employee has more benefits than disadvantages.