Prevention is better than cure’. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

World population is growing exponentially and so are the number of diseases worldwide. Finding a cure for them does not come cheap nor does it happen quickly. Popular opinion suggests that people should focus on preventing themselves from acquiring a disease rather focusing on the creation of an antidote. I am in strong favour of this opinion and in this essay, I will highlight two reasons why. First and foremost, there are a plethora of new diseases being discovered on a daily basis and it takes a whole lot of time to study it. This means that learning about its cure is far from easy as it would take a large number of scientists and doctors to team up and spend significant months if not years learning about it. This would require governments to allocate massive budgets to healthcare which puts a strain on the economy. For example, the current pandemic has been destroying lives for well over 2 years and its potential cure is nowhere in sight. Second, investing in preventative measures is a far easier task. People are generally aware of ways to take care of their health and only need to be reminded from time to time to act on those steps. The World Health Organization, for example, held a lot of awareness campaigns educating masses on how to protect one's self from Covid. The common man is now seen taking all cautious measures to stay healthy which indicates that such acts are effective. To conclude, following a healthy lifestyle is way more beneficial than paying visits to the doctor. History clearly tells us how much blood, sweat and money is wasted finding the magic pill for an illness when it could have been utilized for a healthy life instead. If everyone follows preventative measures, we can also look forward to a healthier world.