The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Any act that causes harm to another individual or a group of people, is considered a crime. Crimes are done with an intention to hurt someone. Crime rates of young offenders are definitely on the rise and researchers say that there has been over 52% increase in crime by youngsters below the age of 18. Many opine that it is solely the outcome of bad parenting and that parents need to taught better parenting skills. But, I do not totally blame them for it. We live in a time and place where society plays a major role in moulding an individual. Societal pressures have both positive and negative impact on the younger generations as they tend to take in everything like a sponge. Today’s generation is exposed to a wide variety of digital devices through which they can watch or share anything according to their whims and fancies. Even today’s entertainment industry has become nonchalant in screening the content they broadcast and label them as ‘U’. Genres like horror, sci-fi etc now show scenes of cold-blooded murder, rape and other crimes and are considered as just another snippet in the movie. News broadcasting channels are no better as they show disturbing content including videos, pictures, controversial interviews that disturb the young minds and make them ruthless. Some detractors may opine that parents have sole control over their children and that better parenting skills would make them better children. Parents can influence the children to a certain extent and can imbibe good value system to the youngster's, but other influences like friends, bad company, society, digital media also play a vital role in creating pivotal changes to the youngster’s mindset. In conclusion, I do not agree with the idea that teaching parenting skills to parents are the only way to reduce the crime rate of young offenders. However, it can be one of the steps towards achieving the goal of creating a better thought process in our younger generation.