There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a go ifod or a bad thing?

The world witnessed an internet boom in the late 90s and since then we have been enjoying an infinite amount of content to consume. As it would be obvious, a good portion of this content comes in the form of music, movies as well as books. This, however, comes with a drawback, unfortunately. The content creators usually aim to make money out of their productions but the internet is making them lost that money; I will explain in this essay why this is a bad thing. First, a lot of blood and sweat goes into making quality content. Artists and celebrities devote their precious time creating audios and visuals that millions enjoy and it is unfair if their compensation is not adequate. For example, a lot of users post copyrighted content on Youtube as soon as it is made available to the public and as a result, revenue money is lost. Also, this unlawful practice discourages emerging superstars and causes them to leave the entertainment industry. Second, the availability of free content means that abusive internet users can claim it illegally if the creator does a bad job of copyrighting his work. Due to this, we witness a significant number of copyright scams on a daily basis. For example, footballer Cristiano Ronaldo faced serious lawsuits for speaking ill against his opponents after a user made a fake Twitter account in his name and posted unethical tweets. As another example, he had to apologize and clarify it publicly to prove his innocence. This confirms that free material indeed is troublesome for the influencers. To conclude, while it always nice to have free of charge content on the go, there are consequences to it. Moral practices need to be followed when publishing copyrighted material such as taking a valid permit from the content creator. This will help strike a balance between motivated young artists and a good quantity of entertainment.