In many countries today crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular Why do you think these TV shows and books are popular What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas

Over the past few years, the true- crime genre is being widely admired in several nations across the world. From documentaries and television dramas investigating past cases to novels about heinous murders, people apparently cannot just have enough of such gruesome stories. This essay supports that watching crime shows or reading crime novels is enlightening for the viewers and will also delve deeper into the reasons behind its growing popularity. First and foremost, it is believed by many psychologists that the darkness of the subject matter makes true- crime stories intriguing and compelling to be watched. Viewing or reading such content allows one to play an armchair detective as crime stories are not predictable like other genres. Unlike romantic or comedy shows or books, crime stories are more original and take the readers or audience to unexpected tangents. TV shows like Crime Patrol and CID in India get the highest TRP as compared to many other famous shows. It also brings a feeling of contentment to read or watch the criminal getting caught. Moreover, people like the element of thrill and suspense and it redeems their faith in the police force as well as the judiciary. It is indeed beneficial to watch or read instances of offences or misdeeds because it creates awareness among the commoners about the wicked criminal mishaps that take place in the society around them. They can avoid falling prey to such crimes by being alert and more vigilant as they already come to know about existing criminal activities happening around them. Furthermore, forensic crime novels have been mentioned as ‘distraction therapy’ suggesting that crime fiction can improve mental health and is potent to treat ailment like depression as the reader distracts from his/her own personal life while reading it. To encapsulate, reading crime novels or watching tv drama based on misdemeanour helps people to resolve their fear of the anonymous who’s ready to attack them in subtle or indirect ways. Vulnerable groups like women or juveniles are drawn more to this genre as they are more fearful of being attacked. Thus to avoid being a victim themselves they watch reality-based crime drama and become aware about the darkest sides of human behaviour.