Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Nowadays, depending on the career path that the individual has chosen, special skills are required to succeed. Despite the fact that vocational skills are more preferable, most educational establishments provide students with academic subjects, history and social studies can be outlined as examples. This essay will suggest that subjects which do not associate with the career path can broaden the horizon of students which is a major advantage, while preventing students to master their own career goals is the primary disadvantage. Introducing subjects in schools such as history and social studies are a quite beneficial method to apply in order to diversify the skill set of students. Although the students can select a different segment for their further academic studies, it does not mean that they will never be tested for their knowledge about the world. For example, the recent interview of BBC with the bunch of people demonstrate that some individuals lack the knowledge related to the fundamental questions which are simple historical and geographical facts about their country. However, teaching these kinds of subjects can consume a huge amount of time of the students, which is a disadvantageous side for those who want to develop their vocational skills for different work area. The subjects like history and social studies are not easy to study, require sharp memory and high energy to persist. For example, recent investigations show that the candidates who have received the rejection for a specific job vacancy had a lack of employability skills which in turn stems from the preference of academic subjects in schools. In conclusion, teaching academic subjects can affect the perspectives of students profoundly, however, it may lead to unemployment because of outweighing the study of required job-related skills.