Many companies use advertisement to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisment effective ? Is it a good thing or bad thing to the society

In a capitalist culture, to sell and generate profit is rule number one. In order to accomplish higher numbers, most companies invest in advertisements to increase their income, which is somewhat effective. However, this much propaganda is beneficial or not to humanity as a whole? Firstly, product showcase is not necessarily focused on the outdoors or television infomercials. The word which goes from mouth to mouth can also be considered a path to present their trades, and an effective one as well. As an example we can cite the baby bottles, women tend to show interest for brands their friends have had a satisfactory experience with it, instead of the ones they have only seen on the supermarket. As in what comes about being good or bad to population, some may argue the advertising generates the idea of owning something just because one saw on television, or the excessive showcase and brand culture can lead to anxiety and to prejudicial horder, such as people who loses their entire investments over products that were announced everywhere. Although, it is reasonable to think the more pieces of information a person holds about a product, the higher the chances of purchasing it. Also, in order to acquire something we must have heard about it somewhere or from someone, as it is done by both male and female when choosing restaurants or hairdressers. Not to mention the market competition and the decrease in prices, which is valuable for the clients. In conclusion, most industries redirect a significant part of their capital to commercialize their products and reach the target market with efficiency. And such action is usually beneficial for society, as enlight people towards where and how they can fulfil their needs, choosing wisely which trade would be more suitable for themselves.