Some people believe that it is important for young children to go to school as soon as possible. Others, however, believe that children should be allowed to stay at home and play until they are six or seven years old. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Why?

Whereas many think that children should start going to school as early as possible, others argue that school should begin at six or seven years old, in order to allow children to stay and play at home. This essay will argue that starting school earlier important for the academic growth of students, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, modern curriculums are larger than they were before and it takes more time for children to learn all the mandatory school subjects. This is because the amount of information that a regular adult has to know is vast, making it very important to start learning at a young age. For instance, nowadays many schools include computer technologies courses from the lower levels. If children do not learn the basics of using a computer at four years old, then they will have a hard time using advance computer software in middle school. Secondly, there is an increasing number of applicants to higher education courses at university or college. Therefore, selection tests are more difficult each year, making the application more and more competitive. Because of that, children who started school earlier will be better prepared for university selection than kids who stayed in their houses playing until seven years old. A recent survey by Harvard University showed that students who started school at four years old were four times more likely to be selected in elite colleges. In conclusion, the amount of knowledge required to learn in school and the level of rivalry in university selection are powerful reasons to make children start school earlier in life. In my opinion, the earlier the better.