Many companies use advertisements to increase sales. What are the main reasons that make an advertisement effective? Is it a good thing or a bad thing for society.

The use of adverts has become increasingly in demand amongst many companies to boost their profits. This essay will outline the various factors which are needed to make an advertisement more effective, and also, discuss why this approach contains equally significant merits and demerits. At the outset, several causes could be considered to produce effective advertisements. Firstly, celebrity endorsement is one of the main reasons that can impact the sales of the company positively. It is because die-hard fans are more likely to purchase the products being endorsed by the favourite celebs. The significant increase in profit of MRF company could be an example of its, whose products are being promoted by renowned cricketer M.S. Dhoni. Secondly, another aspect can be the creativity of Ad- makers, because by choosing the perfect script and catchy jingles, and by giving the complete information in less time, and by making it more creative by inculcating innovative ideas, they can assist the companies to entice the new customer. After watching such ads, customers get swayed away by the promoted products and companies that huge profits as a result. Moving on, using adverts as a method to increase profits can be considered to have positive and negative outcomes. When it comes to the positive, owing to attractive advertisements, customers might become aware of the latest products and services. At the same time, smart shopping can be done after comparing the price range of similar products of different manufacturers. As a twofold result, both companies and communities are getting benefits. However, its negative effect could be on the children, who easily get swayed by the adverts, which are especially focused on them. As children do not have enough rational thinking. So, they cannot compare the effectiveness of products in term of needs, usage and price. Eventually, they could force their parents to shop for unnecessary things. In conclusion, advertisements are used to increase the profits of numerous companies. Nonetheless, not all the consequences of trend have been positive.