Parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, parents place higher expectations on their children to achieve big things in life. One of the reasons for this is that parents are competing for a higher status in society; unfortunately, these expectations can result in poor parent-child relations. On the one hand, the urge for upward mobility in society has become one of the primary reasons for many parents pushing their children to succeed. In many social gatherings, especially in developing nations, people tend to recount how their children are progressing or not in life. It gives them a good sense of satisfaction, pride and respect, to speak highly of their children with good jobs, education or migration history. For example, in rural Zimbabwe, parents with children based abroad or working for large international NGOs and firms tend to be favoured for community positions, which makes them desire for their children to migrate or work for big organisations. On the other hand, sometimes children distance themselves or become resentful towards their parents if they feel that the latter are overly pushing them in life. This happens because they feel the pressure is too much for them to handle or that they are being pushed to lifepaths they do not desire. This way, they may think that they are not being given the opportunity to choose their own directions or make mistakes in life. To exemplify this, several studies highlight that delinquent behaviours by youths can be linked to deteriorating family relationships due to parents ' and children's conflicting aspirations. In conclusion, in their quest to gain community recognition, many parents are putting a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. I argue that this is negative because it spoils the existing relationship between them and their children, who aspire to pursue independent paths.