Traffic congestion is a growing problem in many major cities. Some people say that the government should be responsible to reduce the use of cars. And the car users also have to use public transportation more. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is an ongoing interest in the surge in traffic congestion in most cities. Many people believe that the government should reduce car use while others say it is up to the car owners to use public transportation more. In this essay, I will analyze both perspectives and delineate my opinion. On one hand, one of the most effective ways the government can curb this road challenge is by improving train infrastructure. Trains can serve as alternatives to automobiles. They are faster and can convey a significant number of passengers at once. When they are well-developed and structured in a city, residents will most likely opt for its usage to commute daily rather than drive for hours. For example, in developed cities like London and Paris, where trains are efficient. A survey in these places shows that more than 60% of the population prefer trains. This has suppressed road traffic issues and the associated environmental impact. On the other hand, the automobile users' choice of whether to drive or to use a public bus or train partly depends on them. People will prefer to travel with their families while in the comfort of their cars instead of on a bus with other strangers. By this, I mean that even with other accessible alternatives, city dwellers desire to drive their vehicles every day. This is influenced by factors like privacy, convenience, or even a display of financial status. For instance, a recent study in Abuja, the capital city of my country, Nigeria revealed that approximately three-quarters of the dwellers often drive to run their daily errands, which can be done by walking, cycling or using a taxi. This has been linked to their quest to show off their wealth, contributing to the increased congestion in the city. In conclusion, with the rise in jam-packed city roads, I believe collaborative efforts of the government and vehicle owners will combat this issue. The latter should invest in developing train stations and individuals can overlook their unnecessary desires to display their assets and commute via public transport when necessary.