Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think that it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work?

There are different views as to whether paying children for doing work is a positive or a negative trend. While this tendency lead to some benefits, it has certain negative sides. There are two major drawbacks of children doing paid work. First, when they earn money from completing tasks they learn to be motivated by money. For example, It lead them being not interested in performing work for the sake of it but for money and they can grow into money -oriented adults in the future and lose motivation for the work if there is no earning promised in the end. Second, putting money first and helping others second young people gain materialistic habits, therefore become less interested in being socially active and helping others without money reward. Children doing gainful works has a number of advantages which are important. Earning money from the young age educate children about productivity which can be regarded as one of the benefits. Meaning that, children encourage them to be more interested performing tasks as they know they are going to be rewarded in the end. Furthermore, carrying out paid work has a benefit of preparing children for their future work life, in the sense that youngsters understand the relationship between hard work and earning money, thereby become more diligent people. To sum up, paying children for their work leads to some positive changes such as, having an understanding on hard work and reward relation, become motivated by that and by doing so be more productive. However, there are some negative factors as well, such as being only money oriented, therefore losing their will on carrying out their social obligations.