Some people believe it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It has always been a question about what to do when an unpleasant event happens to us. While some individuals think it is best to accept the situation, I would argue that it is better to make an effort to improve it. Advocates of accepting a bad situation might think this is the best option because it does not waste their time and effort to change something which is out of their control. For example, people might feel some aspects of work cannot be improved to be more satisfactory because they cannot involve in decision making process; or if people lost money because of a sudden change in the market, there is nothing they could do about it. In these situations, it would be reasonable to accept the condition rather than trying to do something about it which apparently is just a waste of time and effort. However, I believe that it is much better to attempt to change a situation. Firstly, we will learn something in the process of trying. To illustrate, when we try to change unsatisfying aspects of the work we might enhance presentation and persuading skills to present our ideas to managers to ask for improvements in the job; or when we have financial difficulty and attempt to do something about it, we might learn about financial management skills. Secondly, we will be happier and more fulfilled if we try to change a bad situation because of the promisingly better outcomes. For instance, a disappointing job can become more rewarding, or we could overcome the situation of lacking money and have financial stability. These scenarios do not only give us more motivation to rise above the situation but also will bring happiness to us when we try, and get the outcome as we want. Lastly, as people say, we never know if we do not try, thus, we will stand a better chance to get a more satisfying job or to have more money if we try rather than just accepting the situation. In conclusion, although there is an understanding reason for accepting a bad luck, I think that it is better to make an attempt to improve the situation.