Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advancement and prosperity have been always tied with science and math throughout the passing centuries. It is often believed that teaching poems and novels at schools are useless and unbeneficial for pupils. This essay will discuss why I completely agree with this statement. Some would claim that literature is important for keeping the students' understanding of different matters of life as it broadens their minds beyond the materialistic and scientific views. For example, taking lessons about famous writers such as Shakespeare would enrich students' minds with the social and psylogoical perspectives. These perceptions would have made them create more sophisticated theories that direct them to lead effectively their communities. In addition, literature assists pupils to get a better idea about the origins of their culture so that they could understand the social and historical forms of their own countries. Nonetheless, the prevailing notion that the importance of scientific subjects outweighs the literature courses. they are the backbone of building modernized civilization, which leads to better a future for all of the generations. By contrast, literature is only based on subjective theories that might contribute to shaking the stability of a society. For instance, the student would have the chance to at the top of the competition of securing their positions at prestige universities by taking intensive courses on computing and science. Furthermore, these subjects are a vital key in transforming positively the life of humankind. In other words, having a curriculum that is based only on teaching more advanced knowledge would equip the students with the necessary skills for protecting people from extinction. To sum up, there has been debate about the significance and the value of literature on students' education process. In my point of view, I believe that scientific and computing courses have more advantages than literature lessons as they are more likely to promote prosperity and development within their communities.