In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. To what extent do you think its benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Importing and exporting foods have been happening in many countries around the world. Although this activity has its pros and cons, I believe that the merits overshadow the demerits because it widens customers’ choices and generates employments. The first benefit coming from importing foods is that it gives people a wider range of choice. More precisely, it is true that every country will have its climate and different types of soil, and people could not grow all sorts of fruits and vegetables. As a result, by transporting foods worldwide, we will have opportunities to taste all exotic foods and cuisines on Earth. Taking Australia as an example, many Asian descents in here are ready to pay extra to taste durian which can only grow in tropical areas. There is a massive misunderstanding that importing foods from other countries will take away jobs, especially for farmers in rich countries. However, from my perspective, international trade creates more jobs than any other industries. The reason is that every country has its exotic foods which can be traded all over the world. For instance, while Australia import tropical fruits from Asia countries, it also famous for its high-quality beef exportation. Moreover, besides farm-works, there is a considerable demand in the workforce for logistic to maintain the import-export flow. In conclusion, the advantages coming from foods import/export merchant offset the disadvantages because international food trades give us more choices in our meals and create more jobs worldwide.