Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Public health issues have always been a long-term problem for many governments, and this has caused even more concerns these days with the ever-growing number of people suffering from modern diseases such as obesity or stress. While some people believe that the key to solving such a problem lies in the number of sports amenities at the public’s disposal, I would side with those who are of the opinion that more measures are needed. Investing in more sports facilities seems to be a feasible solution for some. This might be because the more equipment there are, the more convenient it is more for people to practice sports. As a result, the increasing number of equipment can act as an incentive for people to exercise more regularly. However, the problem of public health is a complicated one that stems from a variety of factors such as poor diet and work-life imbalance, and the lack of exercise is just one of them. Therefore, buying more sports equipment alone might be too simplistic a solution. Clearly, if the problem of public health is to be resolved, more measures will be required. First, the rapid development of the fast-food industry is to blame for the increasing number of people opting for this kind of food on a regular basis as an alternative to nutritious home-cooked meals, and thus, imposing a higher tax on such unhealthy food can curb the number of consumers and encourage people to switch to healthier options instead. Second, if people suffer from stress or other health conditions as a result of a lack of work-life balance, they should learn to prioritize their time more effectively. This means that they should seriously reflect on the way their time is spent and make a list of their top priorities at work and home, thereby optimizing their time to achieve their goals while still being able to balance their life. Seemingly, a change in lifestyle is essential in solving the problem. In conclusion, addressing the issues of public health via increasing access to sports amenities alone is not enough. I believe that other methods should be introduced and both the governments and individuals should join hands to make it happen.