Prison is a common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree ?

Prison is a common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, penitentiary sentences have always existed, they are based on the assumption that criminals or people that went against the law must be punished and interned as they could be a risk for the whole community. Normally the amount of time judges requires that criminals must spend in jail is proportionated to the misconduct they committed. Furthermore, this method is based on the assumption that criminals must be educated and they need time in order to be a proper member of society. Moreover, jails are normally gathering for criminals and most of the time they give advice to each other about how to commit an infraction. Recent studies suggest that for this reason, nearly 70% of all prisoner will commit another infraction in the first years after their sentence. In addition, when they exit the prison they could face huge problems when searching for a new job in order to get money and live properly. To cite an example, nearly 95% of all prisoners are unemployed when they exit the cell. On the other hands, new methods are emerging. One of these consists in creating an alternative way of detention, where the prisoner could be allowed to study and learn new professions. If prisoners are educated and the possibility to learn a professional activity is given, they will find more easily a profession when their sentence is completed. Moreover, studies suggest that when inmates are taught and followed by institutions, 60% of the prisoner are likely to find a profession in the future and thus they could change their lives as they could exit the criminal life. To cite an example, Norway is one of the first countries that removed jail sentences in favour of an alternative form of detection, and they are doing very well as their transgression rates are drastically dropped over the last period. To sum up, I strongly believe that governments should take severe measures in order to properly solve the problem of the violation. By doing so, both population and criminals could benefit from these systems as the violation rate will drop and inmates could find a profession more easily and avoid coming back to prison.