Many museums charge for admissions while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museum overweight the disadvantages?

It is widely known that many museums around the world allow visitors to enter for free while others charge for an entrance fee. I personally believe that charging admission fees in the museum will bring more good than harm. This essay will present my arguments to support the statement. To begin with, the money from the admission fee can be additional funding for museums to maintain both their collections and facilities. Maintaining them is of paramount importance because the majority of displays need to be continuously preserved. For instance, the National Museum in Indonesia has recently announced that there are 1,000 classic books that are in poor condition due to a lack of maintenance. Secondly, the capital resources can be allocated to enhance museums ' security. For example, installing security technology and adding more security personnel to guard rare items. Nonetheless, despite its benefits, there are also some drawbacks. Museums with expensive entrance fees will likely be only accessible to people with higher incomes. To cite an example, the Science Museum in Singapore costs SGD 100 to enter, hence not everyone can afford it. Consequently, there might be a wider knowledge gap within the society because only people from certain groups can learn from those cultural institutions. However, the responsibility to spread knowledge to society is not the main goal of a museum as it can be undertaken by other educational institutions. In conclusion, the regulation to impose entrance fees to museums undoubtedly brings more advantages to their sustainability. The money can be utilized to improve museums ' capability in maintenance and security.