Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

Few people believe that the entire education system focuses on teaching facts and figures rather than imparting practical knowledge. I completely disagree with this view because various courses require students to undertake projects and internships thereby giving them an exposure to the valuable insights and requisite skill set. Most of the courses make it obligatory for the students to submit their project which includes ample research and market surveys. Although it includes various facts and figures, it also involves multiple site visits and interviews of the market leaders having relevant experience. For example, while preparing on the topic of economics, it would be advisable to take the inputs from the economist who can give valuable insights apart from bookish knowledge. Thus, undertaking various methods to collect the information for the assigned project can help the student to gain experience. Further, certain courses make it a compulsion to undertake short internships with the reputed firms. Working at such places would not only help the students to utilize their knowledge but also help them to make an appropriate decision. For example, one month’s internship at the hospital would offer the medical students an opportunity to apply their learnings and rectify their mistakes. Therefore, the internship aspect of the course prepares the students for the real-life scenario. To conclude, certain individuals do think that the education system focusses more on bookish knowledge rather than practical experience. However, I strongly disagree with it since many courses from primary to the tertiary education include projects and internships which helps the student to gain valuable insights and real-life skill.